Joint Committee on End of Life CHoices

The Joint Committee was established by both Houses of the South Australian Parliament in April 2019.
Submissions and transcript of hearings are available on the SA Parliament website, JCEOLC page. (Note that users of iPhones or Apple computers may be unable to download any documents.)

Submission have now been received by the Joint Committee.

The first hearings were July 16. Doctors for Assisted Dying Choice, Dr Roger Hunt, Senior Palliative Care Consultant, and Dr Greg Crawford, President of Palliative Care Australia, presented to the Committee. A transcript is available here.

EOLJC Committee Chair, Hon Kyam Maher, and Committee Member David Basham, Member for Finniss, meet with SAVES Victor Harbor group, June 14, 2019

Joint Committee Membership

There are six members of the EOLC Joint Committee. It is understood that three members are supportive of law reform and three have previously spoken against VAD.

Members of the EOLC Joint Committee:

Hon Kyam Maher (Chairperson),         Opposition Leader in the Legislative Council, Shadow Attorney General

Hon Mark Parnell, MLC (Greens)

Hon Dennis Hood, MLC (Liberal)

David Basham (Liberal)

Steve Murray (Liberal)

Hon Tony Piccolo (ALP)

Read submissions in support of voluntary assisted dying made by 


My Body My Choice

Dr Julia Anaf

Hon Sandra Kanck

Christians for VAD


Frances Coombe

Em Prof Ian Maddocks, AM

EOLCJC Chaiperson, Hon Kyam Maher, greets Belinda Teh on the steps of Parliament House, June 21, 2019.

Join & Renew


PO Box 2151 Kent Town, SA 5071

0421 305 684

© 2017 by SAVES